It often comes up that users cannot see the changes they’re making on their live site. Why is that? Well, your web browser, hosting server, and WordPress cache plugins can all serve cached content which can make it difficult for you to see the changes you made to your website right away.

Clearing your cache is often one of the first things anyone providing support will ask you to do.

In this article, we will show you how to properly clear the cache in WordPress. We will cover your browser cache, web hosting cache, and LiteSpeed Cache, which is what we use here at SequelWP.

So What Is Caching?

The cache will store a static version of your website in a cache. This generally allows your website to load faster as it doesn’t need to completely load everything. Bear in mind, a general browser cache needs to be made on a visit before a user can actually experience a cached version of a site. This is where server cache and caching plugins come into play.

The caching process helps to improve website speed and performance, and the overall user experience.

There are a number of different caching solutions available for WordPress. The most popular method is using a WordPress caching plugin like LiteSpeed Cache or WP Rocket.

Using a WordPress plugin will allow you to control what files/media are cached, when the cache expires and when the cache is cleaned up. Sometime’s it’s best to just use the default settings though.

Depending on your hosting provider, you might already have WordPress caching built-in. For example, our Managed WordPress Hosting has LiteSpeed Cache built into our dashboard.

If you’re using a web application firewall Cloudflare to improve your WordPress security, then there’s also a cache to speed up your site and reduce downtime. As long as you’re using our Cloudflare nameservers you can control both LiteSpeed Cache and the Cloudflare Cache directly from our dashboard.

A screenshot of our caching options in the dashboard

Lastly, modern web browsers will also store cached versions of pages on your web browser.\

Why Clear The Cache?

Unfortunately, sometimes, the cache won’t realize that changes have been made to your WordPress site. Instead of loading the new version of your site, you’ll be stuck seeing an old version. This will prevent both you and your visitors from seeing any updates you’ve made.

Clearing your WordPress cache ensures the most recent version of your website will always be live.

How To Clear The Cache

Clearing The Browser Cache

To clear your browser cache in Google Chrome, click on the menu icon, then select More Tools » Clear Browsing Data.

This is going to load a popup where you can select the content you want to remove from the cache.

First Select the ‘Time Range’. Typically the last hour will be fine. Then check ‘Cached images and file’, then click the ‘Clear browsing data’ button.

You’ve now cleared your browser cache. If you’re still seeing a cached version of the website move on to clearing your WordPress cache.

Clearing The Cache Via Your WordPress Plugin

LiteSpeed Cache

LiteSpeed Cache is one of the best caching plugins out there. It pairs well with our LiteSpeed Webserver which is why we always recommend it.

Simply go to LiteSpeed Cache in the left Menu and then Toolbox

Entering LScache

Once you’ve opened the Toolbox page you can click ‘Purge All’ to only clear data for this website.

If you’re not in the WordPress dashboard, don’t forget you can actually clear the LiteSpeed Cache directly from the SequelWP dashboard under the Speed section as shown above in the earlier screenshot.

Cloudflare CDN Cache

This only applies if you’re using our Cloudflare nameservers which will automatically utilize the CDN cache.

To clear this cache simply log into the SequelWP dashboard and navigate to the speed tab where you can “Purge All Cache”.

A handy tip if you know you’re working on the website is to enable “Development Mode” in the CDN part as above.

Development Mode temporarily suspends Cloudflare’s edge caching, minification, Polish, and Railgun features for three hours unless disabled beforehand. Development Mode allows you to immediately observe changes to the cacheable content like images, CSS, or JavaScript. Development Mode temporarily bypasses Cloudflare’s cache and does not purge cached files.